News / 6 min read
Dragon Knight: SpiritVale's New Knight Advanced Class
SpiritVale's developer published a maintenance notice on 29 October 2026 that names the next update's headline addition: Dragon Knight, described as a new advanced class for Knight. Servers go down on Friday 30 October at 9:00 PM EST for roughly two to three hours, and the patch notes are promised for later. This page records exactly what that notice confirms, what it leaves unpublished, and what to check before and after the window, so the confirmed facts stay separate from the guesses that fill a gap like this.

What the 29 October notice actually says
The post is short and specific, and it is worth reading as three separate statements rather than one announcement. The first is scheduling: servers go under maintenance on Friday, 30 October at 9:00 PM EST, and the post expects them to be down for around two to three hours, with the developer promising to say so if the window is extended. The second is content: the maintenance is for a new update that includes Dragon Knight, described as a new advanced class for Knight. The third is documentation: patch notes will be posted later. The post also points players at the game's Discord for first updates and links the Steam store page. It carries no version number, so a label such as 0.35.0 circulating before the notes appear is a guess rather than a quotation.
Dragon Knight is an advanced class, not a new base class
The distinction matters because the two mean different amounts of work for a player. SpiritVale's store page describes 7 base classes — Acolyte, Mage, Summoner, Knight, Warrior, Scout and Rogue — and keeps advanced specializations in a separate list. The notice places Dragon Knight in the second category by calling it an advanced class for Knight, which means the entry point is an existing base class rather than a new character start. The preparation line in the post follows from that classification: the class you need first is one that is already in the game, not the one being added.
Knight's published specialization is Paladin, and the store lists eight
This site's class atlas pairs Knight with Paladin, which is what the store page's specialization list supports today: Priest, Wizard, Necromancer, Paladin, Berserker, Gunslinger, Shinobi and Weaver. Count those against the seven base classes and one detail stands out — the store publishes eight specializations for seven bases, and it does not pair Weaver with a base class on that page. A second option for a single base class is therefore not a break with the published structure; it is already the shape of the list. What neither the store nor the notice says is whether Dragon Knight arrives as an alternative to Paladin, a replacement for it, or a further branch after it. Do not assume the answer in either direction.
The maintenance window in your own timezone
9:00 PM Eastern on 30 October is the developer's figure, and converting it is where players usually lose an hour. The notice writes EST, but the United States is still on daylight time on 30 October — daylight saving ends there on 1 November 2026 — so Eastern is UTC−4 that evening and 21:00 Eastern equals 01:00 UTC on Saturday 31 October. That is 18:00 Friday in Los Angeles, 01:00 Saturday in London, 02:00 Saturday in Berlin and 09:00 Saturday in Beijing. Read the EST label literally as standard time and every figure shifts one hour later. Take the two-to-three hour estimate seriously when planning: the end of the window lands between 03:00 and 04:00 UTC on 31 October, and the promise to announce an extension is a statement that the estimate can move.
Why the developer says to have a Knight ready
The post adds one line of advice: "If you haven't prepared a Knight yet, this is the time!" That is the only preparation guidance published, and it is worth taking literally rather than as marketing. It implies the new class is reachable from a Knight you already have, and it implies preparation takes longer than the maintenance window itself, because otherwise there would be no reason to start before it. What it does not publish is a level, a quest, a fee or a named NPC. Our Knight guide covers what official notes have said about the class and its Paladin path, and the job advancement guide covers how to research a base-to-advanced decision without relying on stale requirement lists. Both are the right reading before you spend an evening levelling a character for a class whose entry rules are still unpublished.
What the notice does not publish
Everything about how the class plays. There is no skill list, no stat profile, no role description beyond the name, no level gate, no unlock cost, and no statement about whether existing Paladins keep their progress, convert, or sit alongside the new option. One adjacent rule is documented but not attached to this class: 0.34.2 restricted PvP queueing to advanced classes at level 100 or above, which makes advanced class the PvP-qualifying category, yet whether Dragon Knight can queue on release is not stated in the notice and should not be assumed. The same caution applies to damage type, party role and any position in a tier list. This page will not fill those gaps with plausible-sounding detail; where a later note answers them, the answer will be added with its date.
How to tell whether the update has landed
Check the official announcement feed rather than a countdown site: the notice says patch notes follow, and the patch ledger on this site links each entry to the developer's own post instead of summarising a rumour. After servers return, the reliable signals are in the client — the build version shown by the launcher, the class list at the Knight's advancement point, and whether the loading screen completes without the errors a mid-write server produces. Record the version you see and the time you saw it. A server that is up but does not yet show the class is a different situation from a server that is down, and in that case waiting for the notes is more useful than reinstalling.
If something breaks after the maintenance
Maintenance windows in this game have historically been followed by fix patches rather than by a clean break. 0.30.10 re-enabled Trade, Vending and Guild Storage after a maintenance period, and the notes that followed carried item-loss and vending fixes; 0.32.1 opened with several skill fixes, including controller aim on leap skills. So a new class arriving with a skill that misfires is consistent with that pattern rather than evidence of a broken install. What you can control is whether a report is useful: note the exact time, server, region, character level, the skill used, and whether the failure reproduces after a relog. The item loss and rollback guide covers the safe evidence to collect before contacting support, and the server status guide separates a suspected outage from a confirmed notice.
How this page will be updated
Two rules. First, mechanics are added only from an official note, and each addition is dated; a claim that cannot be traced to the developer's own post stays out even when it matches what players report elsewhere. Second, the page is dated rather than evergreen: if the patch notes land and this page still describes them as pending, the review date at the top tells you the page has not been revisited since. That is a deliberate trade. A page that guesses at a new class's skills reads better on the day of release and is wrong for months afterwards, and the second failure is the one that costs a guide its credibility.
Frequently asked questions
When does the Dragon Knight update arrive in SpiritVale?
The developer's 29 October 2026 notice schedules maintenance for Friday, 30 October at 9:00 PM EST, with servers expected down for around two to three hours — 01:00 UTC on Saturday 31 October. The notice gives no separate release time and no version number, and says patch notes will be posted later.
Is Dragon Knight a new base class?
No. The notice calls it a new advanced class for Knight, and SpiritVale's store page separates 7 base classes from its list of advanced specializations. The entry point is an existing Knight.
Is Dragon Knight a replacement for Paladin?
Not stated. The store page currently lists Paladin among eight advanced specializations, and the notice does not say whether Dragon Knight adds a second option for Knight, replaces Paladin, or branches after it.
Do I need a high-level Knight before the update?
The notice only says to prepare a Knight if you have not already. It publishes no level requirement, unlock quest or cost, so a specific number quoted before the patch notes is unsourced.
Where will the SpiritVale patch notes appear?
On the official Steam announcement feed, which is where the 29 October maintenance notice itself was published. The notice says notes are posted later, and this site's patch ledger links the entry to the developer's post rather than reproducing it.